The Poet

I had the most incredible first date last night.  It was, hands-down, the best date I have ever had and it lasted for 9 hours.

The Poet found me on OKC and I almost didn’t respond to him.  I am SO glad I did.  We connected instantly online, but that doesn’t always mean it will be good in person.  Originally, we were supposed to go out last Thursday, but he texted to cancel half an hour before the date because he was sick.  I considered not giving him another chance….but I am SO glad I did.

He picked me up and we went out for drinks.  We talked about everything- his books, his records (he is a poet and a musician), our childhoods, our last relationships…  We closed down the bar, but it was clear that we didn’t want the date to end, so he invited me over to his house for a beer.  We talked and talked and laughed a ton.  We kissed a little too…  Before I knew it, it was almost 4 am and we both had to be at work at 8.  We decided to take a nap for a few hours and then he would bring me home.  We woke up tired and groggy, but both grinning….a state I have remained in all day.

I just got to my second job where I googled him to see how well known he is.  And I was already super impressed by him, but now I am doubly so.  He’s the real deal.  Not some lame dude (like Rat Bastard) who wants to be a poet/musician.  He is actually a published author and musician and has lots of other impressive things on his resume.  Better than all the stuff he has done is the way he was with me.  Humble but confident, kind and funny, and interested in me.

I just can’t stop smiling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

