And that, my friends, is irony…

Last Friday I went on a first date with The Philosopher. We met for coffee in the morning. It was my first, first day date. He was smart and funny and fun to talk to. There wasn’t one moment of awkward silence and we covered lots of interesting topics.

For the first time, I was actually really excited by the prospect of a second date instead of ambivalent about it. I thought he had a good time too.

Later that night, I sent him a message saying I had a good time and enjoyed talking with him. I didn’t hear back from him until the next day, at which point he wrote and said “it was a pleasure meeting you also!”

I hadn’t heard anything else, so I wrote again saying that I had a really good time and would love to do it again if he was interested.

No response. It figures that the ONE time I am actually excited about a guy he doesn’t want to see me again…meanwhile there are several guys I don’t really care about that won’t give up.

ARoomie (I recognize that it’s a little weird to get dating input from him after everything that’s gone on) says I’m only still interested in The Philosopher because he doesn’t seem that interested in me. ARoomie thinks all guys should behave this way to keep women interested… I don’t know- maybe he’s right to some extent, but I was interested before he started ignoring me, so maybe it’s guys who don’t like it when a girl acts interested.

All I know is that there is at least one guy in Boston who doesn’t want to go out with me (though I’m sure there are more)- and it’s the guy that I want to go out with. And that, my friends, is irony.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Single & Existing
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 10:53:34

    Girl-this is the story of my life! It’s always the guy you want, that doesn’t really want you & then you find yourself actually questioning how come he doesn’t want you. I just wish people would be honest, like once he realized it wasn’t going anywhere- he could of responded to your text, at least letting you know he wasn’t interested in date two. And as far as the randoms who continue to vie for your attention- I always keep them away. I consider them guinea pigs, I test my flirting technique and sensual mannerisms on them so I can perfect my skill for the big fish! lol. I think life is IRONIC but least you have a lot of suitors to ease the irony.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

