A lovely date

Last night, BVP and I went on our first legitimate date….and it was really nice.  He picked me up at my door (even though he lives six houses down from me and I could have just walked over and met him) and opened the car door for me each time we got in.  That was a little unexpected.  He is super nice, but I hadn’t pegged him for the gallant car-door-opening type.  It was a nice surprise.  🙂  Then he took me to a Senegalese restaurant, which was excellent.  He had never been there, but had gone out of his way to pick somewhere interesting, with a great atmosphere and excellent food.  He told me later that he had asked a friend he really trusts for the recommendation.  (That means he told friends we were going out…)  Also, I always appreciate adventurous diners.  I had never had Senegalese food, but it was really good and the atmosphere was perfect.

At the end of the evening, I didn’t even offer to help pay and didn’t feel uncomfortable about it!  (Those of you who know me know I ALWAYS offer…)  When we got home he asked if I wanted to go to sleep or if I would hang out with him for a little while longer and said “I really don’t want this to be over.”  Cute ;).  So we went into his house and spent a few more hours talking and laughing.

I’m really not sure what it is about him.  Despite all my reservations, I am not reserved around him in the slightest.  I am incredibly comfortable and I find myself telling him things that I haven’t told anyone in forever or just going off on tangents.  He seems to feel the same and do the same too.  For all you who might be panicking at this…don’t worry….I am still on my guard.  He asked me to sleep over last night (just to sleep) and I told him no.  For the second time.  He knows that I don’t do sleepovers early on….and respects it, but also feels comfortable asking me to.  I know that he will respect any decision I make regarding my level of comfort with that kind of thing.  And because he was so respectful about it, I ALMOST broke my rule and slept over.  But I didn’t.  I walked the six houses back to my own bed and slept alone.

Today I am off on a mini-vacation and I couldn’t be more excited, but I am actually a little sad about not being here for the weekend.  I love my “family” (roommates) and it is going to feel weird to not spend time with them this weekend.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. wtfhappenedtomyreallife
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 13:41:56

    Yay! It sounds like things are going really great. I will not caution you to take it slow and be cautious….you got that covered. I will say that I am proud of you for sticking to your own rules and that I am very excited for you. I have a GREAT feeling about this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

