Proof

Proof that I have changed:

Tonight I ended it with Mr. Perfect- a weird name for him now, but the one I started off with, so that one I will stick with.

I had been feeling like the relationship was purely physical on his end, and it was bugging me.  I had resolved to talk to him about it, but then he REALLY pissed me off.  One night last week, he stopped by my house- just for a chat.  With all my roommates sitting in the next room, he kept trying to convince me to go upstairs and…well…you know.  I kept telling him to forget it, but he kept pushing.  So I changed the subject and he turned THAT around too and made it super awkward.  If we didn’t go up to my room, it would have been weird because now all my roommates were looking.  So we came up to my room and I showed him the new blazer I had been telling him about….and then he started getting pushy again!  I mean COME ON!  Pushy men will drive anyone crazy, but-with my history- it really rubs me the wrong way. The next day he was going out of town for a week, so I wasn’t going to see him anyway.  I planned to talk with him when he got back and give him a chance to change his behavior…but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that his behavior wasn’t likely to change because what really bothered me was his self-centered personality.  For example, while he was away, he texted me “How was your weekend?” I responded that it was terrible and his response was “Oh. Sorry.  Mine blah blah blah blah blah” for a half an hour worth of texts.  It was the key that made me realize that 90% of conversations were about him.  Anyway, all that aside, he is a good person.  I do appreciate a lot of his qualities, I just couldn’t see it going anywhere.

Here’s why this is different from before:

Old FRJ would have just gone with it for two years before letting him break up with me for some reason like he met someone else.  New FRJ is taking charge.  I am not interested in being in a relationship with someone if I don’t see the potential for a future….and if I don’t see it after 2 months, I doubt I will ever see it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. oneisthenumber
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 06:03:06

    Good for you! 🙂 this post actually made me smile a lot. I hope I get better about breaking patterns…….

    Reply

  2. cleorentra
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 15:26:45

    YAY! So glad you broke it off with him. Remember that it’s a huge red flag when a guy only wants to hang out (or only makes himself available) at night. My current boyfriend works 50+ hours a week and when we were dating, he planned a SunDAY picnic at the park. Also, don’t be so quick to label guys “perfect” so soon (or ever!) That can be a pretty high ledge to fall from when they let you down…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

