“Peter”

How can you tell if someone is interested in dating, or just something casual, when you have known them for years?

Peter and I went out early last week.  Was it a date?  Are we just friends who will stay friends?  There is definitely chemistry between us, there always has been.  We’ve known each other for 7  years (though we haven’t seen each other for 5 years), but this time it seemed like he was actually interested.  Maybe it’s my increased confidence, but I felt like he was trying to impress me and he WAS indicating through body language that he was interested.  But….who can tell?

I am kind of making it my mission not to be the pursuer these days.  I have spent too much of my past doing that and I think I deserve to be pursued the old fashioned way: an interested guy asks ME if he wants to take me out.  Even after one date I don’t want to be the one asking for a second.  But my question is…are all men capable of this?  Is it too much to ask to want to be modern in most ways, but old fashioned in this way?

All I know is, I think I would like it if Peter asked me on a date, but I won’t be asking him to go out unless it is as friends…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. oneisthenumber
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 13:33:00

    I’m always kinda weirded by the friend interest thing. Only because if we date and it’s awful the friendship is over. Actually pretty much anyway it goes, the friendship is over so this is one of the few things I actually put thought into before making a play for a guy friend. Then again there is at least one that I’ve now lost contact with I wish I would have moved on back in the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

